1. Anchorage

From the recording To All the Sailors We've Lost

Nomadic indie rock project Paper Anthem releases fourth single ‘Anchorage,’ from upcoming sophomore album entitled To All the Sailors We’ve Lost (out 13 September on Sophrosyne Sounds). Following the sorrowful and intimate piano-driven singles ‘Aquatic,’ ‘21st Season,’ and ‘Zero,’ singer-songwriter Joseph Hitchcock reveals a new flavor of his upcoming LP with a big, triumphant rock track.

“[Anchorage] is about finding the strength to break free from the harmful elements in your life and become the person you’re meant to be,” Hitchcock explains. “But it’s also specifically about the moment I realized I had to end a toxic relationship, and how that set me on a path focusing on music and songwriting.”

Recorded along with ‘Aquatic,’ '21st Season,' and ‘Zero’ at Donut Time Audio—the home studio of Bay Area art rockers Everyone Is Dirty, who lend their producer/guitarist Christopher Daddio’s many talents to the upbeat track—and mixed by Kristofer Harris (Belle and Sebastian, Clock Opera), ‘Anchorage’ immediately settles into a familiar structure of pop verses and explosive rock choruses before pulling the rug out and building up an envigorating cacophony of delay guitars and vocals that repeatedly ask you: “Don’t you feel the same?”